How my online brand differs from my professional personality

Oof.

I leave breadcrumbs of my personality scattered online, and it gives a strong indication of who I really am. Right now, that looks like Sybil, a woman with something like 26 personalities (masterfully played by Sally Field in the 1976 movie by the same name).

I like to think I’m funny, so a lot of what I post has a humorous side to it. I’m also direct and forthright, so I often call it like I see it. Usually, that adds to the irony of the humor, which I like.

I’m also politically active, and I consider it my duty to share my insights about what’s going on in the country and the state. You can see where this is going, right? My political posts are direct, sometimes funny… in other words, snarky. And in the current political climate, they’re abundant.

I LOVE writing them!

And then I frequently delete them.

Here’s where Sybil really becomes Fantasia: I’m also a spiritual coach. I love writing feel-good posts. I love inspiring and uplifting people… just not political opponents.

I know, I know. I truly do love everyone. I just hate politics when things don’t go my way. It’s why I delete so many of my political posts.

It’s like I love YOU, but I hate what you did just there… a lot. 

Then there’s my professional personality. I work as a digital marketing strategist for a major university. I manage social media accounts that reach thousands of people—donors, in fact. I am the gatekeeper on what is appropriate and inappropriate for which audience. It’s a lot of responsibility.

Clearly, my online brand does not match my professional personality. I imagine it should, so if you’re looking for feel-good “Love is all there is” posts, you’re not whacked upside the head with a demand to Donald Trump to delete his Twitter account and stop acting like a 12-year-old…

Perhaps, like Sybil, I need 26 distinct online identities.

Leave a Reply

